here are her first thoughts and clarifications.

Hello and welcome to my blog! My name is Lindsey and I’m going into my third year at Illinois Wesleyan University. As you could probably guess, one of my majors is Spanish. However, I am double majoring with Environmental Studies – hence, what brings me to Japan!

While in Japan, I have the fantastic opportunity to be an intern at the World Friendship Center in Hiroshima.  The World Friendship Center was founded in 1965 by an American woman, Barbara Reynolds. Reynolds founded the World Friendship Center with the intention to unite people from all over the world and to educate them on the history of Hiroshima and why we must disband nuclear weapons as well as nuclear energy. In addition to my internship at the World Friendship Center, I will be conducting research based upon public opinion regarding nuclear energy.  Since the 2011 disaster in Fukushima, Japan has seen a first hand account of the dangers that nuclear power plants can induce. However, even today the Japanese government has proposed the reopening and construction of nuclear power plants across the nation. Nuclear power plants propose the incentives of jobs, prosperity, and “clean” energy. While in Japan, I intend to conduct interviews to see what the public truly thinks what will come with nuclear power plants and whether they should/should not be constructed.

Okay, this is all for now for my first post! Stay tuned for photos and stories while this Spanish/ES major explores Hiroshima. Sayonara!

 

http://wfchiroshima.com/english/

^read more about the World Friendship Center by following the link above!

One thought on “here are her first thoughts and clarifications.

Leave a Reply

